Sango (feat. SPZRKT)- Middle of Things, Beautiful Wife (Stwo Remix)

I’ve been listening to this remix for weeks and I was looking for the perfect moment to post it. I think this may be it. The original by Sango is a sexy, sumptuous, delectable R&B baby-making track. It’s not very complicated. A nice progressive swung rhythm and a classic, melodic R&B lead vocal. For me, the best part of this track is the harmony in the pre-chorus and the chorus. It just ties the melody together so well. The Stwo remix is fantastic. The Paris-based DJ (also on How What & Where records, a great label I might add) highlights all the elements that make the original so nice, while also bringing in some classic electropop elements. For instance, he brings out the beat a bit more and also intensifies the synth line allowing it to stand on the same footing as the vocal instead of just being a complement. I want to get into something that I don’t do very often in my reviews: the emotional side of the song. Sometimes I get so caught up in the analysis that I forget to bring in how a song speaks to me and this one always did connect with me. The lyrics of the song are fine, I mean, nothing too special, but it’s the mood of the song that affects me. When I listen to this song, I feel like I’m driving through London, Athens, Paris, Chicago, (or whatever other large city you can bring to your mind) and I’m just wasting my time getting lost in the city. Hopefully, this track will influence you in its own way, maybe it makes you think of your significant other, or an ex you haven’t seen in a while, or maybe you feel nothing, but that’s what we try to do here at CasaSwoop. We try and open you up to music so that you can feel things and maybe, just maybe, we’re doing a good job. Listen to the tracks below and let me know how it makes you feel!

Leave a Reply

